Duke of Edinburgh

The Duke of Edinburgh Award scheme is a very popular scheme designed to challenge young people, aid with their self-development and then recognise their achievements. It is looked upon favourably by employers as it shows that person can set a goal and then achieve it, whilst learning new skills along the way. The award scheme can only be offered by a registered organisation (such as schools or youth groups), but the RAF Air Cadets is one of these and we have a plethora of qualified instructors and assessors.

There are three levels to the award, Bronze, Silver and Gold, with each one increasing in difficulty and requirements, but most cadets are capable of achieving Bronze as a minimum.

There are four sections to complete for Bronze and Silver level, and five at Gold:

  • Volunteering - Show you are involved with voluntary services that benefit individuals or the community and make a difference to peoples lives (Air Cadet service counts towards this).
  • Physical - Log a minimum number of hours taking part in physical activity such as sports or adventure training.
  • Skills - Show that you have learnt a new skill, which could be anything from playing a musical instrument to building an app/website.
  • Expedition - Learn all the skills required to undertake a short walking/camping expedition, such as cooking, self care, rucksack packing technique, map reading and navigation.
  • Residential (Gold only) - Spend a week away undertaking a new challenge with new people in a new environment.

Like most squadrons, we offer D of E expedition training and activities once a year in spring/summer and then the cadets can complete the other sections in their own time. Upon completion they are presented with a certificate and a badge to wear on their uniform.

1244 (Swindon) Squadron RAFAC
Upham Road, Swindon, SN3 1DH

Tel: 01793 534363


Facebook: @1244rafac
Twitter: @1244rafac
Instagram: @1244rafac

Go to top